A Modern Woman on the Move

in hot pursuit of the great green light…

Official Deadline and Update on the DW Remembrance Zine

leave a comment »

Official Deadline & Update on the DW Remembrance Zine
Originally, Tim Goodyear and I talked and started sharing a deadling for the zine that would be the beginning of the year. I have been approached by a lot of people about feeling vulnerable about what to do though they want to do *something* for the zine.
I feel I should share that I feel the same way. I hardly know where to begin with my own submission and I often have feelings about whatever I make being good enough for honoring a person so important to me. When people have come by to say hi to me at IPRC and ask about this, my response is something like this, “Thank you for confiding in me how you feel, I know it’s hard. You may be surprised to know that I am struggling with that myself. Ultimately, you have my love and support whether or not you submit to the zine, though I hope you do. If you need more encouragement, just ask yourself what would Dylan say? Because, I am betting, he’d encourage you to make something. That was one of the great things about him, he always encouraged us to make stuff.” I thought I should include this in the announcement for those having those feelings who have not come by the IPRC to talk about it.
I want to thank a couple of people who sent submissions already, like Chelsea Baker, Julia Gfrörer, and Chris Cilla.
Anyways, the extended and official deadline that we are finally announcing for contributing to this zine is March 31st.
We’re going to be doing a classic, half-sized zine. So, contributions should fit into a 5″x8″ are relatively easily. It’s better to be bigger rather than smaller. Also, remember to be sure that you’re image files are at least 300dpi.
If you are submitting a written piece, I would love to have something more than a raw text file, something that is laid at as uniquely you and stands out as your voice in contrast with the rest of the zine.
Don’t be hesitant to ask me for help if you need it. If you need help scanning, editing, laying out or anything, please let me know. I volunteer at the IPRC and it’s easy to arrange a time for me to help get your finalized submission to me.
At this point, we’re not set on any particular cover, we will consider any illustration submitted as a possible cover (we have also thought about a solid black cover), so the art call for a cover is open to see what we get and how that turns out!
As for thematic guidelines, we feel that it’s best to keep them looser than not. Anything about Dylan, related to Dylan, or about any of Dylan’s many interests will be considered for this zine, reviewed and edited by Tim Goodyear, Tom Neely, and myself (And maybe you? Just ask!) who have offered to help us collectively organize this zine.
As a reminder, all proceeds of the sales of this zine will go to the Dylan Williams Scholarship Fund for the IPRC’s Comics Certificate Program. If you have any other questions or want to help in any other way, please let me know! If I missed something that you’ve asked about, just remind me by asking again, it’s no bother.
Please email me regarding any of this or to contribute. lovemotionstory [at] gmail [dot] com
Written by lovemotionstory

February 1, 2012 at 12:27 pm

Leave a Reply

