A Modern Woman on the Move

in hot pursuit of the great green light…

PZS is HERE!!!

leave a comment »

So, I have been so swamped with the Stumptown Underground issue that came out a couple weeks ago and also with organizing the Portland Zine Symposium, that I haven’t been posting!!

But, anyways, the Portland Zine Symposium is THIS WEEKEND!

Here is the final general update we posted online and sent out to everyone

I have a lot to say about PZS, as an organizer and a zine enthusiast, but I have to keep this short because I gotta go help setup tables at Refuge for tomorrow.

So, in short, this is PZS wonderfulness is happening all weekend, starting tonight, and I really hope you come check it out!!!

I can’t tell you how hard I work to organize PZS, countless hours every year, and I still feel like I am not doing enough or well enough. Doing SU, PZS, and other zine stuff drives a fair almost all of my life and challenges me to work harder and do better at every turn. It’s also incredibly rewarding, which is what compels me to keep trying harder and doing more.

Tonight, at the IPRC, we are starting with an IPRC Open House and PZS Kick Off Party, complete with a game of Zine Jeopardy.

Tomorrow is the first day of tabling and lots of workshops at Refuge. I will be there all day, of course, but the hours are from 10:00am until 6:00pm. This year, we also worked hard on an app  that allows you to “heart” the tablers you want to see and set notifications for workshops. : portland-zine-symposium.getbloodhound.com

In the evening, one of my favorite bands, Point Juncture WA,  and several of my favorite readers will be doing a music show, zine reading, and reissue party all to benefit PZS at Backspace. This should be a huge fund raiser for us and it has been written about in every paper in town and I want to give a huge thank you to Michael Heald for helping make it happen.

On Sunday, we have the second day of tabling and workshops from 10:00am until 5:00pm. Also, if you check out pdxzines.com, you will see that I have been working hard to post a bunch of interviews with many of the PZS tablers this year. Those interviews should give you a great idea of why I love zines and doing PZS. <3

Sunday night, we’re going to have a huge after party with karaoke at IPRC.

Hope to see you this weekend!

Written by lovemotionstory

August 10, 2012 at 4:13 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

