A Modern Woman on the Move

in hot pursuit of the great green light…

Big and empty house, big and fruitful garden, big and goofy dog…

leave a comment »

I am dogsitting for the next 3 weeks while the main family I nanny for is on vacation. I love my house, my garden, and my cats, but dogsitting is a fun change of pace.

Being in a big house can get kind of lonely, but I always get extra work done whenever I am dog/housesitting. I can’t decide if it’s because I set up more like I am in an office or if it’s because the house is empty so I feel slightly more comfortbale slumming it for a whole day in front of the computer, answering a bajillion emails.

The family’s garden is much bigger and older than mine, like, can you see all those yummy artichokes in the foreground of this pictures? I am going to try really hard not to eat all of them.

I wouldn’t ever want to own a dog because it’s more of a time commitment than what I feel I can make room for, which is why I have two cats, but Joy is quite adorable and I am happy to pretend I have a dog for 3 weeks… And I am going to have a pretty happy running buddy. Joy is a great dog, the kind of dog who is so sweet and loving that she also can’t be left alone for too long, she gets anxious and sad. She also doesn’t realize her own size (she is SO big) and leans into you for love and pets.

This little vacation couldn’t come at a better time, last week was so busy with events for Portland Zine Symposium that I help organized and other things, that this downtime to stay up late most days and sleep in, catch up on emails and projects (like writing about all the mini zines we’ve gotten at the IPRC for the Zine Machine) and plan for all the events in July (like the 4th Annual 24hr Zine Challenge and the Science/SciFi release party for Stumptown Underground) is welcome. Maybe I will even get some writing done.

One thing I probably have coming up the next few weeks is teaching  at least one week at the Rock’n’Roll Camp for Girls! Maybe even all three! I offered to help find them an additional instructor for at least the Thursdays of the 2nd and 3rd sessions, which I can’t do, but would love to split with a friend. I am so excited!

Written by lovemotionstory

June 26, 2012 at 3:44 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

