A Modern Woman on the Move

in hot pursuit of the great green light…

Life Eternal

with 2 comments

So, as several of you know, either because I emailed you or talked to you in person or because you saw my last blog post, I am working on a zine in remembrance of and in dedication to Dylan Williams.

At this point, after talking to Emily regarding how to handle distributing the zine (if it should be free, if it should be sold by Sparkplug to help keep it going, etc), I approached Justin at the IPRC about selling this zine to help raise funds for a scholarship that IPRC is just announcing will be offered in Dylan’s memory for the IPRC’s Comics Certificate Program. Dylan taught in the program, teaching and supporting others in their creative endeavors was important to him in many ways, and it seems like the best thing to do with the result of the zine… Especially since Emily suggested it. So, this zine will be sold all over and all proceeds will go to the Dylan Williams Scholarship Fund for the IPRC’s Comics Certificate Program.

I am also thinking of calling the zine Life Eternal, because my favorite photo of Dylan is the one Theo posted of Dylan next to those words. I think Dylan would feel kind of awkward if his face was on the cover of something, as he was rather humble, so I was having the cover all black, those letters in white, and that photo on the inside cover with an explanation of the zine, how it’s in dedication to his life and ideas and what the sales of the zine go to. This is not an idea I am married to and I need to ask Theo about using the photo, but it’s the first idea I had. I would also be open to doing a call for an illustration for the cover.

As far as submissions go, anyone can submit anything related to Dylan Williams, his ideas, his life, and so on. I would like to keep guidelines very loose so as to have the zine be  as inclusive as it can. Writing, illustrations, comics… Pretty much anything printable.

Do you have any thoughts on any of this? To what degree would you like to help? Just contributing? Helping review submissions? Organizing? Just organizing advice? I am open to as little or much involvement from anyone at this point, because I’d like to approach it with an inclusive and cooperative spirit. The zine anthology I work on usually, Stumptown Underground, is a collective I started to publish anthologies where all organizers have equal input and submissions are totally open to anyone, so I guess that’s why I would approach this that way.

Please email me regarding any of this or to contribute.
lovemotionstory [at] gmail [dot] com

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] a comment » Official Deadline & Update on the DW Remembrance Zine… Originally, Tim Goodyear and I talked and started sharing a deadling for the zine that […]

  2. […] a comment » Official Deadline & Update on the DW Remembrance Zine…Originally, Tim Goodyear and I talked and started sharing a deadling for the zine that would […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

